Welcome!

I am so excited that you stumbled upon my blog. This is, if anything, a passion project. I enjoy exploring, traveling, discovering, eating, experimenting and of course, writing.

Far too often, I think Northern Virginia (also known as “NoVA”) is overlooked as a destination. It is a second banana to Washington, D.C. Now, don’t get me wrong, Washington is great. I’ve been fortunate to live there twice. However, I think people overlook the incredible opportunities to be found here in greater Northern Virginia. There are fabulous parks, delicious restaurants, fun festivals, peppy parades, picturesque centers and historic locales. This blog seeks to promote that. It’s a way to encourage myself, as a transplant and recently minted “local” and those who are kind enough to stumble upon this blog, to explore their backyards.

What do you consider Northern Virginia?

Most people consider Northern Virginia to be Arlington and Fairfax Counties and the Cities of Alexandria, Falls Church and Fairfax. In the spirit of adventure, I am going with the US Census’ 2010 definition of NoVA: the counties of  Arlington, Clarke, Culpeper, Fairfax, Fauquier, Frederick, King George, Loudoun, Prince William County, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Warren, and the independent cities of Alexandria, Falls Church, Fairfax, Fredericksburg, Manassas and Manassas Park. It also means taking the time to cover many of the small towns in these counties as well. These towns include: Berryville (Clarke), Boyce (Clarke), Culpeper (Culpeper), Clifton (Fairfax), Herndon (Fairfax), Vienna (Fairfax), Remington (Fauquier), The Plains (Fauquier), Warrenton (Fauquier), Middletown (Frederick), Stephens City (Frederick), Hamilton (Loudoun), Hillsboro (Loudoun), Leesburg (Loudoun), Lovettsville (Leesburg), Middleburg (Leesburg), Purcellville (Leesburg), Round Hill (Loudoun), Dumfries (Prince William), Haymarket (Prince William), Occoquan (Prince William), Quantico (Prince William), Front Royal (Warren). There’s also countless “Census Designated Places” and state, local and national parks.

How often will you post?

Ideally once a week if not more, and I’ll group these posts into categories including their location and what type of activity I am doing. In some cases, I’ll be posting about activities I did earlier in the year.

That’s it, I’m ready to start! And here’s a nice photo from the Mt. Vernon Trail in Arlington that I took to whet your appetite.

13227256_10205977551429192_987412480179318890_o

Leave a Reply

